The 26th Nile Council of Ministers has agreed to institutionalise and regularise the Nile Basin

The Nile Council of Ministers is an annual gathering of the Ministers of Water Affairs from each of the Member States of the Nile Basin Initiative  in Bujumbura, Burundi,


The meeting was attended by ministers from Ethiopia, Burundi, South Sudan, Uganda, Democratic Republic Congo, Egypt, Sudan and Tanzania participated


During the meeting, the Republic of Burundi assumed political leadership of the Nile Basin Initiative, succeeding the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. The changes in leadership are in keeping with the NBI tradition of annually rotating the position of both chairman of the Nile Council of Ministers and the Nile Technical Advisory Committee among Member States.


The Nile Council of Ministers offered strategic guidance and direction on key issues aimed at encouraging Member States to jointly address their common challenges including water scarcity, food and energy insecurity and climate change as well as institutional matters of the Nile Basin Initiative.

Dr. Deo-Guide Rurema, who is also the chairman of the Nile Council of Ministers, has said. "The Heads of State Summit is a platform that the Nile Basin Initiative will utilize to promote the Nile Basin development," he said.


 "Member States agreed to meet their annual obligations in a timely manner so as to support NBI in meeting its core costs," Dr Rurema said, adding, "Member States committed themselves to clear within the shortest possible time."


In addition, the ministers approved the NBI Financing Strategy and the Resource Mobilization Action Plan, both of which are to enable NBI raise more funds for core costs, program work as well as implementation of regional investment projects.


The meeting was also attended by Members of the Nile Technical Advisory Committee, Management staff of NBI as well as representatives of development partners and civil society.

There are 10 NBI Member States: Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Egypt, Ethiopia, Kenya, Rwanda, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania and Uganda. Eritrea participates as an observer.

The Nile Basin Initiative will, celebrate its  20 years establishment.

August 14/2018 (Nile Basin Initiative Secretariat)